Skip to content Skip to navigation

Alumni

Doctoral Student Alumni


Stuart Diller, Ph.D.

Ph.D. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, University of Virginia
sdiller@andrew.cmu.edu
Now President and Founder of ESTAT Actuation


Kirby Ann Witte, Ph.D.

Ph.D. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, University of New Mexico
kwitte@andrew.cmu.edu
Now at Intuitive


Rachel Jackson, Ph.D.

Ph.D. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, Rice University
rachelj@andrew.cmu.edu
Now a Project Lead at Google X


Juanjuan Zhang, Ph.D.

Ph.D. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
B.S. Electrical Engineering, Nanyang Technological University
juanjuan.jj.zhang@foxmail.com
Now an Associate Professor at Nankai University


Myunghee Kim, Ph.D.

Ph.D. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, Hanyang University, M.S. KAIST, M.S. MIT
myheekim@uic.edu | website
Now an Assistant Professor at University of Illinois at Chicago


Joshua Caputo, Ph.D.

Ph.D. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, B.S. Electrical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon
jmcaputo@andrew.cmu.edu
Now President and Founder of HuMoTech



Postdoctoral Alumni


Sasha Voloshina

Alexandra (Sasha) Voloshina, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Research Associate, Mechanical Engineering
Ph.D. Kinesiology and Mechanical Engineering, University of Michigan
svoloshina@stanford.edu
Now an Assistant Professor at the University of California, Irvine


Pieter Fiers, Ph.D.

Ph.D. Postdoctoral Research Associate, Mechanical Engineering
Ph.D. Science, University of Antwerp; Ph.D. Physical Education, Ghent University
pieter.fiers@ugent.be
Now a Postdoctoral Assistant at the Sport Science Laboratory at Ghent University


Philippe Malcolm, Ph.D.

Ph.D. Postdoctoral Research Associate, Mechanical Engineering
Ph.D. Physical Education, Ghent University, Belgium
pmalcolm@unomaha.edu
Now an Assistant Professor at University of Nebraska, Omaha



Visiting Doctoral Student Alumni


Sabrina Abram

Sabrina Abram

Advised by Max Donelan
PhD Student, Engineering Science, Simon Fraser University
Topics: motor control and learning, gait, energy expenditure
sabram@sfu.ca



Project-Based Masters Student Alumni


Ashley Nguyen

Ashley Nguyen

Masters Student, Mechanical Engineering
B.S. Exercise Science, B.S. Mathematics, B.A. Chemistry, Indiana University
Topics: biomechanics, post-stroke gait, exoskeleton assistance
abnguyen@stanford.edu


HoJung Choi

HoJung Choi

Masters Student, Mechanical Engineering
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology
Topics: control, self-paced treadmill
hjchoi92@stanford.edu


Stefan Klein, M.S.

M.S. Mechanical Engineering, Stanford University
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, University of California Berkeley
scklein@stanford.edu
Now at Agility Robotics


Tyler Del Sesto, M.S.

M.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, Brown University
tdelsest@andrew.cmu.edu
Now at JPL


Evan Dvorak, M.S.

M.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
B.S. Mechanical Engineering & Applied Mechanics, University of Pennsylvania
evan.dvorak@gmail.com
Now at Apple


Blair Emanuel, M.S.

M.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, Olin College of Engineering
blair.j.emanuel@gmail.com
Now at JPL


James Gabriel, M.S.

M.S. Robotics Institute, Carnegie Mellon University
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, B.S. Biomedical Engineering, Duke University
jamescgabriel@gmail.com
Now at Disney Imagineering R&D


Kyle Rawding, M.S.

M.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, Harvard College
kylr1032@gmail.com
Now at Physical Sciences Inc.


Tianjian Chen, M.S.

M.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
B.E. Mechanical Design, Manufacturing and Automation, Huazhong University
chen.tianjian@outlook.com
Now a Ph.D. student at Columbia University


Mailing Wu, M.S.

M.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
B.S. Biomedical Engineering, Columbia University
mailing.r.wu@gmail.com
Now at Lutron Electronics


Biju Obi, M.S.

M.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
B.S. Biomechanical Engineering, Stanford University
oobi@andrew.cmu.edu
Now at Westinghouse


Roberto Quesada, M.S.

M.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
Masters Student, Mechanical Engineering
roberto.quesada@gmail.com
Now at the Wyss Institute


Rohan Krishnan, M.S.

M.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
Masters Student, Mechanical Engineering
rohankri@andrew.cmu.edu
Now at Lutron Electronics


Tianyao Chen, M.S.

M.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
Masters Student, Mechanical Engineering
chentianyao@gmail.com
Now a Ph.D. student at Catholic University



Visiting Project-Based Masters Student Alumni


Robert Peuchen

Visiting Masters Student, Mechanical Engineering
r.j.peuchen@student.tudelft.nl
Now a Master's Student at T.U. Delft
 


Jan Warnaars

Visiting Masters Student, Mechanical Engineering
jan_warnaars@hotmail.com
Now a Ph.D. student at T.U. Delft
 


Michiel Plooij, Ph.D.

Visiting Masters Student, Mechanical Engineering
m.c.plooij@student.tudelft.nl
Now a Postdoc at T.U. Delft
 


Laurent Huberty

Visiting Masters Student, Mechanical Engineering
l.h.huberty@student.tudelft.nl
Now at Hyosung
 



Project-Based Undergraduate Student Alumni


Andreas Fatschel

B.S., Mechanical Engineering, Biomedical Engineering
amfatschel@gmail.com
Now a Masters student at Carnegie Mellon
 


Scott Landes

B.S., IMB Program, Mechanical Engineering
scotttlandes@gmail.com
Now a Masters student at Carnegie Mellon
 


Hannah Lyness

B.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
hlyness@andrew.cmu.edu
Now a Masters student in Robotics at Carnegie Mellon
 


Sean Archie

B.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
sarchie@andrew.cmu.edu
Now at Trinidad and Tobago Electricity Commission
 


Stephanie Chen

B.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
swc1@andrew.cmu.edu
Now at Medtronic
 


Noah Fox

B.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
ntfox@andrew.cmu.edu
Now at JPL
 


Russell Kirmayer, M.S.

M.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
B.S. Applied Physics, Carnegie Mellon University
russellkir@gmail.com
Now at Formlabs


Faith Quist

B.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University & German Studies
fquist@andrew.cmu.edu
Now at Key Tech
 


Mike Spinelli

B.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
mspinell@andrew.cmu.edu
Now at Strong Arm Technologies
 


Elena Yasinski

B.S., Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
elenayasinski@gmail.com
Now at Intralox
 


Lizmarie Comenencia Ortiz

B.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
lcomenen@andrew.cmu.edu
Now a graduate student at Stanford
 


Jessica Lee

B.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
jessicalee@cmu.edu
Now a graduate student at UCLA
 


Ruthika

B.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
ruthika@cmu.edu
Now at a private geological engineering company
 


Jayon Wang

B.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
jayonw@andrew.cmu.edu
Now at Shell and Harvard
 


Robert Wojno

B.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
rwojno@andrew.cmu.edu
Now at Audi
 


Jon Boerner

B.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
jboerner@andrew.cmu.edu
Now at MathWorks
 



Masters Student Alumni


David Gonzalez

David Gonzalez

Masters Student, Mechanical Engineering
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, Cornell University
Topics: biomechanics, running, exoskeleton assistance
dxg2@stanford.edu


Olga Saadi

Olga Saadi

Masters Student, Mechanical Engineering - Design Impact
B.S. Industrial Engineering, Pontifical Catholic University of Rio de Janeiro
Topics: mechanical design, balance
olgacs@stanford.edu


Kevin Wang

M.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, University of Toronto
kcwang@andrew.cmu.edu
 


Jack Kaplan

M.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
jakaplan@andrew.cmu.edu
 


Tanuf Tembulkar

M.S. Biomedical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
B.E. Biomedical Engineering, Stony Brook University
ttembulk@andrew.cmu.edu
 


Winton Zheng

M.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
B.S. Energy and Power Engineering, Dalian University of Technology
wintonzheng0325@gmail.com
 


Zach Batts

M.S. Robotics, Carnegie Mellon University
ztbatts@gmail.com
Now a graduate student in the Robotics Institute
 


Ben Matzke

M.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
ben.matzke@gmail.com
Now at 4moms
 


Kanchi Nayaka

M.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
B.E. Mechanical Engineering, Visvesvaraya Tech
kmandyam@andrew.cmu.edu
 



Undergraduate Student Alumni


Phil Chen

Phil Chen

Undergraduate Student, Mechanical Engineering
Topics: optimization, machine learning
philhc@stanford.edu
 


Cymeyna McFarland

Cymeyna McFarland

Undergraduate Student, Biomechanical Engineering
Topics: electromechanical design, balance
ckmmoni@stanford.edu
 


Thomas Lee

Thomas Lee

Undergraduate Student, Mechanical Engineering
Topics: mechanical design, optimal control
tomlee@stanford.edu
 


Emily Broude

B.S., Mechanical Engineering, Biomedical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
ebroude@andrew.cmu.edu
 
 


Gustavo Costa

B.S., Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
gcosta@andrew.cmu.edu
 
 


Cecilia Morales

B.S., Mechanical Engineering, Biomedical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
M.S., Robotics Institute, Carnegie Mellon University
cgmorale@andrew.cmu.edu
 


Tim Barber

B.S., Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
tbarber@andrew.cmu.edu
 
 


Shalani Stockton

B.S., Mechanical Engineering, Biomedical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
sstockto@andrew.cmu.edu
 
 


Henry Peck

B.S., Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
hpeck@andrew.cmu.edu
 
 


Natalie Kronfli

B.S., Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
nkronfli@andrew.cmu.edu
 
 


Alvan Mbongo

B.S., Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
ambongo@andrew.cmu.edu
 
 


Michelle Mann

B.S., Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
mamann@andrew.cmu.edu
 
 


Wentao He

B.S., Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
wentaoh@andrew.cmu.edu
 
 


Alec Assaad

B.S., Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
aassaad@andrew.cmu.edu
 
 


Eric Volk

B.S., Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
evolk@andrew.cmu.edu
 
 


Roberto Jaime Garza

B.S., Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
rjaimega@andrew.cmu.edu
 
 


Patrick Sumner

B.S., Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
psumner@andrew.cmu.edu
 
 


Anne Alcasid

B.S., Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
aalcasid@andrew.cmu.edu
Now a graduate student in Biomedical Engineering
 


Julie Rekant

B.S., Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
jrekant@andrew.cmu.edu
 
 


Jordan Zile

B.S., Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
jzile@andrew.cmu.edu
 
 


Nicole Huang

B.S., Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
nwhuang@andrew.cmu.edu
 
 


Eli Zauner

B.S., Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
ejz@andrew.cmu.edu
Now at Procter & Gamble
 


Mark Erazo

B.S., Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
merazo@andrew.cmu.edu
Now at CMACS
 


Steve Pepin

B.S., Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
spepin@andrew.cmu.edu
Now at Microsoft
 


Sarah Kunka

B.S., Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
skunka@andrew.cmu.edu
Now at Chrysler
 


Matt Stanton

B.S., Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
mjstanto@andrew.cmu.edu
Now at his startup, Sole Power
 



Professional Alumni


Soongeun Cha

Laboratory Engineer
soongeun.cha@gmail.com
Now at U. Pittsburgh